Archdiocese of Kansas City in Kansas

The Vicariate Apostolic of the Indian Territory was established July 19, 1850. The Diocese of Leavenworth was established May 22, 1877. The See was transferred to Kansas City in Kansas on May 10, 1947. It was created an Archdiocese August 9, 1952.

The Archdiocese is comprised of the following 21 counties: Anderson, Atchison, Brown, Coffey, Doniphan, Douglas, Franklin, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Leavenworth, Linn, Lyon, Marshall, Miami, Nemaha, Osage, Pottawatomie, Shawnee, Wabaunsee, and Wyandotte. It covers 12,524 square miles.

The total population is 1,339,351; the Catholic population is 183,441. In the 21 counties, 8 pastoral regions have been established: Atchison, Johnson County, Lawrence, Leavenworth, Nemaha-Marshall, Southern, Topeka and Wyandotte County.